Pasar al contenido principal

5-11 December 2016

This year at the IGF a variety of activities are being held to raise awareness of community networking models and there are a number of events that relate closely to the topic. We have assembled them here to help those who want to attend some if not all of them.

You can also download and print the schedule!

Day 0 – Monday, 5 December

15:00 – 18:00: General Assembly – Community Networks Analysis, Planning and Strategy Session

A declaration on community networking will be made. Come and have your say on finalising the Community Networks Declaration.

Where: Workshop Room 5

20:00 – 22:00: Disco-Tech, an exciting evening of lightning talks and demonstrations interspersed with dinner, music and drinks.

Where: Restaurant El Mexicano, Calle Morelos 79, Centro

RSVP to or

Day 2 – Wednesday, 7 December

12:00 – 13:30: Dynamic Coalition on Community Connectivity. Report launch, featuring the authors of the papers included in the DC3 Report.

Where: Workshop Room 9

15:00 – 16:30: Dynamic Coalition on Community Connectivity (DC3) Workshop WS238: Empowering the Unconnected.

Where: Workshop Room 2

16:30 – 18:00: Dynamic Coalition on Innovative Approaches to Connecting the Unconnected.

Where: Workshop Room 3

Day 4 – Friday, 9 December

10:00 – 11:30: Best Practice Forum on Policy Options for Connecting the Next Billion.

Where: Main Session Room

11:30 – 13:00: Workshop WS161: Public Wi-Fi/Open access models in developing countries.

Where: Workshop Room 3

Day 5 (after IGF) – Saturday, 10 December

10:00 – 17:00: Post-IGF Workshop on community networking, open to anyone interested.

Where: Public Library of the State of Jalisco “Juan José Arreola”, Periférico Norte Manuel Gómez Morín no. 1695, Colonia Belenes, Zapopan.

Speakers at these events include: Alejandro Pisanty (National Autonomous University of Mexico), Anriette Esterhuysen (Association for Progressive Communications), Bob Frankston (author), Carlos Rey Moreno (Zenzeli Networks), Christian O’Flaherty (ISOC), Erick Huerta (Rhizomatica), Jane Coffin (ISOC), Laura Tresca (ARTICLE 19 Brazil), Leandro Navarro (Pangea), Mahabir Pun (Nepal Wireless Network), Maureen Hernandez (independent researcher), Mike Jensen (Association for Progressive Communications), Nicolás Echaniz (Altermundi/LibreRouter), Osama Manzar (Digital Empowerment Foundation), Peter Bloom (Rhizomatica), Ritu Srivastava (Digital Empowerment Foundation), Roger Baig (Guifi.Net), Steve Song (Village Telco) and Vint Cerf (ISOC).

Areas of work