Save the date for a conversation on freedom of expression and gender justice with Irene Khan

Publisher: APCNews    

Join us in this conversation with Irene Khan, UN Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection of the right to freedom of opinion and expression. This will be an informal side event to the 76th session of the UN General Assembly and will mark the formal presentation of the Special Rapporteur’s new report on Freedom of Expression and Gender Justice to the UN General Assembly.

This is the first report in the 27 years’ history of the mandate to be devoted exclusively to the challenges that women face in exercising their freedom of opinion and expression offline and online.

It would be great to have you engaging in this event and the discussions about the next steps concerning the implementation of the report's recommendations.

When: Thursday 21 October 2021, 10:00 (ET) / 16:00 (CET) / 14:00 (UTC)

Where: Online event. Please register here.

Speakers:

  • Irene Khan, UN Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection of the right to freedom of opinion and expression

  • Nahla Haidar, Vice Chairperson, CEDAW

  • Jineth Bedoya, Editor, El Tiempo Colombia 

  • Julie Posetti, Global Director of Research at the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ)

  • Danya Centeno, Public Policy Manager for Latin America, Twitter  

  • Jac sm Kee, Numun Fund founder and digital rights defender 

  • Paula Martins, Policy Advocacy Lead, Association for Progressive Communications (APC)

Facilitation: Jan Moolman, Women's Rights Programme co-manager at the Association for Progressive Communications.

This event will be conducted in English with simultaneous interpretation to Spanish and French. 


 



« Go back