2012 Internet Governance Forum Multistakeholder Advisory Group members announced

By Mallory Knodel
Publisher: APCNews     Montreal, 27 April 2012

Announced this week, APC’s executive director Anriette Esterhuysen and Lillian Nalwoga from APC member organisation Collaboration on International ICT Policy in East and Southern Africa (CIPESA) were appointed to the 2012 Internet Governance Forum Multistakeholder Advisory Group (IGF MAG). Congratulations are in order to them as well as to APC’s policy manager Valeria Betancourt,and executive board member Graciela Selaimen from APC member organisation Núcleo de Pesquisas, Estudos e Formação (NUPEF), who were re-appointed.

We also want to extend our congratulations to the Internet Governance Caucus (IGC) members who were selected for the MAG and express our appreciation that the UNSG has managed to convene a group with strong civil society and developing country representation. A full list of MAG members for 2012 is available here.

About the IGF: APC has found that the IGF is an experimental and influential policy forum for achieving our mission of ensuring open, universal and affordable access to the internet for all people. At the IGF, we advocate for policies and regulatory approaches that ensure equitable and affordable access, freedom of information and expression, access to knowledge, public participation, human rights, capacity-building and a development agenda for internet governance. And we express our concern about the erosion and diminishing visibility of a rights-based approach to how the internet is governed.