Board of directors

Conseil d'administration 2011-2013

Conseil d’administration 2011 à 2013

Danijela Babic, Croatie (présidente élue)
Andrew Garton, Australie
Anriette Esterhuysen, South Africa (directrice exécutive)
Graciela Selaimen, Brésil
Julian Casasbuenas Gallo, Colombie
Liz Probert, Royaume Uni
Shahzad Ahmad, Pakistan
Valentina Pellizzer, Bosnie-Herzegovine

D’en haut et de gauche à droite: Andrew Garton, Julian Casasbuenas Gallo, Shahzad Ahmad, Anriette Esterhuysen. Deuxième rangée: Valentina Pellizzer, Danijela Babic and Liz Probert. Photo: APC mars 2011.

À prospos du conseil d’administration

Conseil d'administration d'APC de 2007 à 10 (mars 2008): Lors de leur preimière réunion du consil à Ithala, Afrique du Sud.Conseil d’administration d’APC de 2007 à 10 (mars 2008): Lors de leur preimière réunion du consil à Ithala, Afrique du Sud.

Le conseil d’administration comprend le directeur exécutif, un président, un vice-président, un secrétaire et un trésorier et il peut également créer d’autres fonctions. Une même personne peut exercer plusieurs fonctions, sauf que ni le secrétaire ni le trésorier ne peuvent être en même temps présidents.

Chaque agent (à l’exception du directeur exécutif, qui est nommé) est élu pour un mandat de trois ans et reste en fonction jusqu’à l’expiration du mandat et l’élection de son successeur. Afin que les capacités de gouvernance soient bien assimilées et exercées par le conseil d’administration, ainsi que pour assurer la continuité et l’efficacité de son fonctionnement, aucune limite n’est fixée au nombre de mandats qu’un administrateur peut accomplir.

Directeur exécutif

Le directeur exécutif est membre d’office du conseil d’administration. Il n’est pas élu, mais en fait partie du fait même qu’il est président et directeur général d’APC. Il ou elle a les mêmes droits et obligations, y compris le droit de vote, que les autres administrateurs, et fait partie du nombre autorisé d’administrateurs fixé par l’Assemblée des membres. Le directeur exécutif est le seul membre du conseil d’administration à recevoir une rémunération pour ses services.

Sous le contrôle du conseil d’administration, la principale tâche du directeur exécutif est de superviser et de gérer avec efficacité les affaires d’APC et les activités du personnel, ainsi que de mettre en œuvre les politiques et stratégies adoptées par le conseil d’administration et l’Assemblée des membres.

Président

Le candidat qui reçoit le plus grand nombre de votes devient président du conseil d’administration (ainsi que de l’Assemblée des membres). Le président n’exerce pas de fonctions exécutives. Son rôle consiste essentiellement à présider toutes les réunions des membres et du conseil d’administration en veillant à ce que les discussions se déroulent normalement, que personne ne domine les discussions, que les opinions et les idées pertinentes soient partagées et que les discussions aboutissent à des résultats clairs et logiques conformes aux discussions et décisions précédentes.

Vice-président

Il incombe au vice-président de s’acquitter des fonctions du président en l’absence de ce dernier. À ce titre, le vice-président assume tous les pouvoirs et fonctions prescrites par le conseil d’administration et les règlements d’APC.

Secrétaire

Le secrétaire supervise la tenue des procès verbaux complets des débats des membres, du conseil d’administration et de ses comités. Il supervise l’envoi des avis nécessaires, la tenue des registres des procès-verbaux et le registre des membres.

Trésorier

Le trésorier est responsable de tous les fonds d’APC, dont le dépôt est effectué selon les modalités prescrites par le conseil d’administration, et de la tenue des montants exacts et suffisants des transactions concernant les biens et les activités d’APC. Il produit des rapports et des états comptables selon les besoins.

Pour en savoir plus sur les “rôles et les responsabilités du conseil d’administration.”:fr/about/conseil-administration

Members of the Board of directors

Portrait de anriette
Anriette Esterhuysen
Executive director
Portrait de liz
Liz Probert
Portrait de Chim Manavy
Chim Manavy
Portrait de jcasasbuenas
Julian Casasbuenas G.

Connexion

Board of directors

APC Board 2011-2013

APC board 2011-2013

Valentina Pellizzer, Bosnia-Herzegovina (vice chair and acting chair)
Andrew Garton, Australia (secretary)
Anriette Esterhuysen, South Africa (executive director)
Graciela Selaimen, Brazil
Julian Casasbuenas Gallo, Colombia (treasurer)
Liz Probert, United Kingdom (convenor of the audit committee)
Shahzad Ahmad, Pakistan

Pictured from top left: Andrew Garton, Julian Casasbuenas Gallo, Shahzad Ahmad, Anriette Esterhuysen. Second row: Valentina Pellizzer, Danijela Babic (no longer on APC board) and Liz Probert. Photo: APC March 2011.

About the board of directors

APC board of directors for 2007-10 (March 2008): At their first board meeting in Ithala, South Africa.APC board of directors for 2007-10 (March 2008): At their first board meeting in Ithala, South Africa.

The board includes the executive director, a chair; a vice-chair, a secretary; and a treasurer. It may also include other offices as appointed by the board. Any number of offices may be held by the same person, except that neither the secretary nor the treasurer may serve concurrently as chair.

Each officer (excluding the executive director, who is appointed) is elected for a three-year term and holds office until the term expires and a successor has been elected. In order to ensure effective take-up and exercise of governance capabilities by, as well as continuity and efficiency within, the board, there is no limit on the number of terms that a director may serve.

Executive director

The executive director is an ex officio board member, not elected but included by virtue of being APC’s president and chief executive officer. He or she has the same rights and obligations, including the right to vote, as all other directors, and is included in the authorised number of directors fixed by council. The executive director is the only board member to receive compensation for his or her services.

Subject to the control of the board, the main task of the executive director is to effectively and efficiently supervise and manage APC’s affairs and the activities of the staff, and implement the policies and strategies adopted by the board and council.

Chair

The candidate who receives the highest number of votes becomes chair of the board (and also of council). The chair has no executive functions. His or her main role is to preside at all meetings of the members and the board, ensuring that appropriate discussions take place, no one person dominates discussions, relevant opinions and ideas are shared, and discussions result in clear and logical outcomes in line with previous discussions and decisions.

Vice-chair

In the chair’s absence, it is the role of the vice-chair to carry out the duties of the chair. Acting as the chair the vice-chair has all powers and duties prescribed by the board and APC’s bylaws.

Secretary

The secretary supervises the keeping of a full and complete record of the proceedings of the members and the board and its committees. He or she supervises the giving of such notices as may be proper or necessary, the keeping of the minute books, and the membership book.

Treasurer

The treasurer supervises the charge and custody of all APC funds, the deposit of such funds in the manner prescribed by the board, and the keeping and maintaining of adequate and correct amounts of APC’s properties and business transactions. He or she produces reports and accountings as required.

Learn more about the roles and responsibilities of APC’s board.
“Find out more about how APC is governed”:en/about/governance

Members of the Board of directors

anriette's picture
Anriette Esterhuysen
Executive director
liz's picture
Liz Probert
ag's picture
Andrew Garton
jcasasbuenas's picture
Julian Casasbuenas G.
sahmad's picture
Shahzad Ahmad

Sign in to APC.org